This is the order to read the Betsy Tacy Books

I re-read all the Betsy-Tacy books in preparation for my journey to Minnesota.  They were read to me as a child and I read them myself in my childhood, but I wanted to review them before visiting the author’s hometown of Mankato, MN.

In my childhood I did not read what are known as the Deep Valley books, which take place in the same world as Betsy-Tacy but do not star Betsy or Tacy.  Or even Tib.  When I did the re-read I read all the Betsy-Tacy books then all the Deep Valley books.  Due to the fact that most of our main players wander through (or are even large parts of) the Deep Valley books, I found myself annoyed and wishing someone had steered me to read the books in chronological order.

So this is a list of the Betsy-Tacy books with the Deep Valley novels interspersed so the timeline is not interrupted.



7904Betsy-Tacy & Tib

17256159Winona’s Pony Cart

3343248Betsy & Tacy Go Over the Big Hill

42486Betsy & Tacy Go Downtown

6403093Heaven to Betsy

6487858Betsy in Spite of Herself

477899Betsy was a Junior

6758030Betsy & Joe

(no image because I can’t find a good one)

Carney’s House Party

15939566Emily of Deep Valley

15939538Betsy & the Great World

15800605Betsy’s Wedding

All images from Goodreads.

2 thoughts on “This is the order to read the Betsy Tacy Books”

  1. This is very helpful! I doubt that I’ll ever read these, but I’m sure that someone out there is on the verge of discovering and enjoying them. I hope that they find your list before they do.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *